UBAKoninklijke Unie van de Belgische Zendamateurs vzw

slideshow 1

Photo: Couloir

De YASME foundation eert ON4UN


The Yasme Excellence Award is awarded to individuals who, through their own service, creativity, effort and dedication, have made a significant contribution to amateur radio. The contribution may be in recognition of technical, operating or organizational achievement, as all three are necessary for amateur radio to grow and prosper. The Yasme Excellence Award is in the form of a cash grant and an individually-engraved crystal globe.

The Board of Directors of The Yasme Foundation is pleased to announce the award of the Yasme Excellence Awards for 2013 to the following individuals:

  • Tom Roscoe, K8CX: Tom is recognized for his dedication to collecting and publishing current and historical photos and other documents on his Hamgallery web site at www.hamgallery.com. Hamgallery is an excellent amateur radio resource provided free of charge to the on-line community. Tom is also the manager of the W3 QSL Bureau, contributing many hours to ensuring cards are delivered properly and promptly.
  • Lee Sawkins, VE7CC: Lee's software is widely used to manage and filter DX cluster spotting output. Without such filters, the output of the spotting network would be overwhelming and unusable. Lee’s filtering software enables logging programs to integrate with the spotting network for contesting and general-purpose operation around the world. Lee supports the local DX and contesting community in British Columbia and will be representing Canada in WRTC 2014 as the Team Leader from the NA-12 region.
  • John Devoldere, ON4UN: Along with building one of the premier amateur stations in the world, John's contributions to the DXing community have been extensive. Beginning with "80 Meter DXing," published in 1978, his book expanded to "Low-Band DXing," which in its fifth edition has become the most widely used handbook for operating and building antenna systems on the bands at 7 MHz and lower frequencies. The book contains important advances in HF amateur technology and encourages operation on these bands.
  • Michael Carroll, N4MC; Eldon Lewis, K7LS; Dean Gibson, AE7Q; and Joseph Speroni, AHØA: These gentlemen have been instrumental in providing convenient access by amateurs to information maintained in FCC databases. In the case of N4MC, his Vanity HQ site became the single most popular resource for U.S. amateurs seeking to obtain a desired call sign, on-the-air identity being a fundamental element of amateur radio. He continues to maintain the National Silent Key Archive at www.silentkeyhq.com. K7LS and AE7Q have created similar on-line services that can be found at www.radioqth.net and www.ae7q.com. AHØA was a pioneer in accessing the FCC databases and providing useful summaries of licensing information. The services made freely available by these four individuals have greatly enriched and educated U.S. amateurs.
  • Ken Claerbout, K4ZW: Ken is recognized for his work in support of the series of video seminars and lectures produced in association with the Potomac Valley Radio Club. Initially focused on contesting, the scope has broadened to include a variety of operating and technical topics. More importantly, the videos have encouraged others to publish similar "webinars" and archive them for viewing at any time.
  • Ashraf Chaabane, 3V/KF5EYY: Ashraf has become an energetic representative on all fronts of amateur radio in Northern Africa and globally. He presents a positive role model for amateur radio across the entire Arab world with his enthusiasm and competitive spirit. His mission is to see the day when the administration in Tunisia issues him the first personal license in that country. Ashraf will also be representing Africa as the Team Leader for the African team in WRTC 2014.

The Yasme Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation organized to conduct scientific and educational projects related to Amateur Radio, including DXing (long distance communication) and the introduction and promotion of Amateur Radio in developing countries. For additional information about The Yasme Foundation, visit our website at www.yasme.org.

Ward Silver, NØAX, President

The Yasme Foundation Board of Directors:

Fred Laun, K3ZO, Director and Vice-President
Rusty Epps, W6OAT, Director and Treasurer
Kip Edwards, W6SZN, Director and Secretary
Martti Laine, OH2BH, Director
Mac McHenry, W6BSY, Director
Robert Vallio, W6RGG, Director

Yasme Trophee for ON4UN