UBARoyal Belgian Amateur Radio Union

slideshow 1

Photo: Couloir

Rules of the ON Contest

ON Contest 2021

The UBA Section MCL - Mechelen invites all radio amateurs to participate in the 41th edition of the ON Contest.

1 - Contestperiods

6 meters Phone/CW september 26, 2021 from 07:00 UTC to 10:00 UTC. Change of time!
80 meters SSB october 3, 2021 from 06:00 UTC to 09:00 UTC. Change of time!
80 meters CW october 10, 2021 from 06:00 UTC to 09:00 UTC. Change of time!
2 meters Phone/CW october 17, 2021 from 07:00 UTC to 10:00 UTC. Change of time!

2 - Categories

  • a    ON stations.
  • a2  ON stations QRP.
  • b    ONL (Belgium SWL's member of the UBA).
  • c    UBA sections.
  • d    Foreign stations.
  • e    Foreign SWL.

QRP: Participants in this category will state clearly "QRP" in the heading of their log and state they didn't used more power the 5W in CW or 10W in SSB.

UBA-sections: In each contest part only those sections are counted from which at least 5 logs (ON + ONL) (80m CW 3 logs) with each at least 25 valid QSO's. The points of the 3 best logs are added together to produce the result of the sections. To determinate the final result for the sections, the totals obtained by the sections are dived by a factor equal to the average of the first 3 ON station of that contestpart/10000.

For foreign stations, only QSOs with Belgian stations are valid.

3 - Bands

Use the IARU contest preferred bandsegments:
  • 80m CW: 3510 to 3560 KHz.
  • 80m SSB: 3600 to 3650 and from 3700 to 3775 KHz.

4 - Contest call and exchange

CQ ON Contest
  • Stations in Belgium: RS(T) + QSO-number from 001 + UBA Section (stations not member of the UBA will give XXX)
  • Stations outside Belgium: RS(T) + QSO-number from 001
Only stations operating from inside Belgium can give a UBA section as multiplier.

5 - Points

3 points for each QSO. For ONL/SWL 3 points for every ON station heard.

6 - Multipliers

1 multiplier for each UBA Section (XXX is also a multiplier).

7 - Final Result

The number of QSO points multiplied with the number of multipliers.

8 - Logs

Send your log in cabrillo format.
Logs in another format must have a summary sheet and one or more logpages.
Logsheets on an A4 format paper will have 40 QSO's per page and will mention following items:
  • Date, UTC, Band, call, report send, report received (RST + QSO number + UBA section), multiplier and points.
  • Date, UTC, Band, call station heard, report send (RST + QSO number + UBA section), call station being worked, multiplier and points. (voor ONL/SWL.  The same station being worked may only appear 10 times).
The summary sheet will mention:
  • Contestname, contestdate.
  • Name and first name, callsign, complete address, UBA section.
  • Number of QSO's, points and multipliers and the calculated score.
  • Statement: "I declare that all the contest rules and all the rules and regulations for amateur radio operation in my country have been observed and adhered to. I accept all the decisions of the contest committee".
  • Signature and date.

Following programs support this contest:
SD from EI5DI. Download here the updated list of the UBA Sections for SD. (Click right and save as)
N1MM (freeware).

9 - Deadline and address

All logs have to be send in no more than 7days after each contest. Logs received via email will receive a confirmation within a week.

  • via email: ubaon [at] uba [dot] be (subject: Log%20ON%20Contest%20from) (ubaon[at]uba[dot]be). If you do not receive an answer within a week, send your log again, but at on5wl [at] telenet [dot] be (on5wl[at]telenet[dot]be).
  • at the address: Welters Leon ON5WL, Borgstraat 80, 2580 Beerzel, Belgium.

10 - SWL

The station heard must be an ON station.
On VHF, the ONL/SWL does not have to mention the station worked.

11 - Certificates

  • The winners of each category will receive an award if they have at least 25 valid QSO's in their log.
  • The section that wins the final ranking of the sections will receive a nice plaque.

12 - Penalties and disqualification

  • For paper logs: each double non marked QSO will be penalised with 5 times the value of the QSO before the final score is calculated.
  • QSO's which do not appear in the log of the other station count for 0 points, but no additional penalty will be applied.
  • Logs on paper with more than 3% double not marked QSO's will be disqualified.
  • For cheating, imaginary logging and clear, repetitive and intentional violation of the contest rules.
  • For continuous or repetitive violation or total negation of the IARU band plan.

13 - Remarks

  • In view of the short duration of the contest there is no distinction between single- or multioperator stations. Both are allowed and will be placed in the same category.
  • A maximum of 10 QSO's with members of your own section will be taken in account for points. You may work more stations of your own section but they will count for 0 points.
  • Stations using a special event call will be placed outside competition and are not eligible for an award.
  • On 2 meters and 6 meters a station can only be worked once regardless of mode.

Good luck!
The contest committee: ON5WL

UBA Sections

AAA Antwerpse Actieve Amateurs   HAC Hasselt   PHI Section radio de Philippeville
ACC Antwerp Contest Club   HCC Haaglandse Contest Club   RAC Radio Amateurs Club
ALT Radioamateurs Aalter   HOB Heist-op-den-Berg   RAF Radio Club Ardenne-Famenne
ARA Aktieve Radio Amateurs   HRT Herentals   RAM Radio-Amateurs Mouscronnois
ARC Amateur Radio Club of Brussels   IPR Ieper   RAT Radio Amateur Team
AST Aalst   KSD Koksijde   RBO Eupen
ATH Radio Club de Ath   KTK Kortrijk   RCA Radio Club des Ardennes
ATO Tienen   LGE Liège   RCB Radio Club de Bruxelles
BDX Brussels DX team   LIR Lierse Radioamateurs   RCN Radio Club Noord
BFA Belgian Friends of Amateur radio   LLV La LouVière   REM Radioamateurs Erpe-Mere
BLW Brussel West   LUS LUxembourg Sud   RST Sint-Truiden
BRC Bell Radio Club   LVN Leuven   RSX Ronse
BSE Brabant Sud-Est   MCL Mechelen   SNW Sint-Niklaas
BTS BrabanT Sud   MLB Midden Limburg   THN THuiN
BXE BruXelles Est   MNS MoNS   TLS Tussen Leie en Schelde
CDZ Ciney Beauraing   MTT Mol-Turnhout   TRA Torhoutse Radio Amateurs
CLR CharLeRoi   MWV Midden West-Vlaanderen   TRC Trudo Radioamateurs Club
CPN Charleroi Pays Noir   NBT Noord Brabant   TWS Together We're Strong
CRD Club Radioamateur de Durnal   NLB Noord Limburg   UBA National UBA Clubstations
DNZ Deinze   NMR NaMuR   VHF Antwerpen VHF
DRC Dendermonde   NNV Ninove   WLD Waasland
DST Diest   NOK Noorderkempen   WRA Wortegemse Radioamateurs
EKO Meetjeslandse Radioamateurs   NOL Noord-Oost Limburg   WRC West-vlaamse Radio Club
ERA Eeklose Radioamateurs   ODE Oudenaarde   WTN Radio Club Wetteren
GBN Geraardsbergen   ONZ Oosthoek   WTO WaTerlOo
GBX GemBlouX   ORA Opwijkse Radio Amateurs   XXX No UBA member
GDV Gang De Verviers   OSA Antwerpen   ZLB Zuid Limburg
GNT Gent   OSB Brugge   ZLZ Zelzate
GTM Grensloze TransMissie   OST Oostende   ZTM Zottegem