UBARoyal Belgian Amateur Radio Union

slideshow 1

Photo: Couloir

The CWops Award for Advancing the Art of CW

The purpose of this yearly award is to recognize individuals, groups, or organizations that have made the greatest contribution(s) toward advancing the art or practice of radio communications by Morse code.


Candidates for the award may be one or more of the following:
  • Authors of publications related to CW
  • CW recruiters, trainers, mentors, coaches and instructors
  • Public advocates of CW
  • Organizers of CW activities
  • Designers and inventors who advance the art or practice of CW
  • Other contributors to the art or practice of CW
Note: The award is not limited to amateur radio operators and organizations.


Nominations may be made by anybody (not limited to CWops members).  Nominations should be emailed to <awards [at] cwops [dot] org> with a copy to <secretary [at] cwops [dot] org> . In order to be considered, a nomination must be received by April 15, 2017 and include:
  • Name(s) and call sign(s) (if applicable) of nominee(s), and complete contact information including their postal address(es), email address(es), and telephone number(s).
  • A detailed explanation supporting nominee qualifications according to the above criteria.
  • Name, telephone number, email address, and call sign (if applicable) of the person submitting the nomination. 

Presentation of Award

A plaque will be presented at the Dayton Hamvention.  If the recipient(s) is/are not present, it will be sent to them.